5 Lessons Learned About Temptation

8 Apr

I’m not going to lie, with a new job and new temptations, this week was much harder than the first time I did a 30 day cleanse. Yesterday was the cap on the temptation wagon.  I had a training which meant tons of free food and some of the most unhealthy choices you could think at one buffet.  Breakfast was full of sticky buns, cinnamon rolls (with caramel and nuts), donuts, and bagels as far as the eye could see.  Anyone who knows me knows I’m a sucker for cinnamon rolls.  Luckily for me, a little coffee with heavy cream has been my staple to help me get over the sweet cravings. I love my coffee and it helps to knock out the sweet tooth.

Lunch wasn’t much easier though I actually had options.  There was a smattering of meats including baked chicken, Italian sausage, meatballs, pasta with a meat sauce, corn, salad and a smattering of different dressings.   While I wasn’t able to ask about the ingredients in each of the dishes, I made the best choice I could going with chicken, sausage and a meatball with a side of salad topped with olive oil and vinegar.  While the meal was protein heavy, I kept the portions reasonable and it actually helped get me through the next temptation… FRESH BAKED COOKIES! I told you, they were throwing the whole gamete at me when the train arrived at temptation town.  All that being said, I did learn some valuable lessons when it comes to overcoming obstacles.

1. Always Keep Your Goals in Mind

It’s easy to give in, especially when others are there calling you crazy for not eating a cookie! Just keep in mind that the grass at the end of the tunnel is much greener than the grass on the other side of the fence.

2. Have a Go-To Temptation Squasher

For me, at the time, it was coffee with a little heavy cream. For you, it might be different. Having your own snacks on hand like almonds, carrots,  dates, or whatever you like. These snacks really can mean the difference between success and failure.

3. Ignore Others

Yes, others might make fun of you for your choices, but it’s simply because they don’t understand where you are coming from.  After I turned down the cookie, everyone at my table looked at me as though I had 3 eyes.  They then made a comment on how I had skipped out on breakfast as well. After explaining to them my situation and how I was trying to overcome some bad eating habits, they immediately warmed up and understood.

4. Best Available Options are Good

Was the food I was presented the healthiest I could have eaten? No! But, I would have had to travel several miles to get food on only a 30 minute break.  I did the best I could and used my food knowledge to make the best of what I was presented to me.  I actually don’t think I made too shabby a choice either.  Yes it was light on the veggies, but the salad did have carrots, cabbage, and olives while the sausage had really good spicy peppers. On top of that, the sausage was baked with a chicken broth base and the chicken was baked.

5. Don’t Beat Yourself Up

I probably could have kicked myself for eating the meatball after remembering it was probably made with breadcrumbs. What good would that have done though? Most likely it would have caused me to doubt my decision making and push me right into eating the cookie after lunch.  By feeling a sense of pride, I was able to boost my own confidence and make a better decision when the cookies came around.

What are your tips for overcoming temptation? What is your biggest temptation? What would you like to see more of on this blog?

Your opinion is greatly appreciated! Drop us a note!

