Hit the Reset Button

30 Apr
Photo Credit: Tony J. Case

Photo Credit: Tony J. Case

Sometimes we just need to hit the reset button. Whether it is our career, exercise routine, diet (lifestyle), sex life, or something else, sometimes we need to take a step back and analyze what we are doing.  Of course you know this topic is going to be around diet and exercise and not sex life, but whatever your prerogative, I think this post could be useful to you.

While yesterday was my last day of the 30 day challenge, I thought long and hard about how far I’ve come in the last 30 days and how successful I was in achieving my goal. Eating as clean as possible.  I only had 2 cheat days during the entire thirty days and one of them was calculated while the other was not.

Today, I decided to take a step back and consciously make the decision to give myself a cheat day.  I made this decision to give myself a reset.  Eating 30 days of completely strict clean eating can be taxing on the mind.  I needed a reset so that I can shift my thinking and re-strategize.  I don’t want to be a robot when it comes to eating like I was the last 30 days and therefor need to think about how I will go about making my eating decisions.  When will be a cheat day? What circumstances do I need to take a stand and not slip up? When will I begin to incorporate exercise beyond walking?

This cheat day allowed me to step away from my lifestyle change and put my brain power toward strategizing about the future.  I didn’t do this during my first whole thirty and I saw negative consequences from it.  The first being when I cheated, I cheated without control. I felt after my first whole 30 that it was all or none on the clean eating scale. This go around is going to be different.  For the next thirty days, my plan is to make clean eating a part of my life and not separate my clean eating life from my non-clean eating life.  From here forward, I will strategically make the conscious decision to what meals I will and will not cheat. By hitting the reset button, I hope to avoid burnout and the mess that comes with the burnout.

What one thing do you want to hit the reset button on?

Your opinion is greatly appreciated! Drop us a note!

